I need a friend

I need a friend

who will sit with me in silence
because they know
all about the noise in my head

the kind of friend
who knows all my secrets
but never tells
because they know
that nobody has ever known all of me at once

I want a friend who cares regardless
whether I push them away or not
because they know
that sometimes I don’t think I deserve any love at all

I need a friend who is willing
to cradle my head and to sing to my soul
because they know
that sometimes my heart sings melodies so melancholic
that they devastate my spirit

I really want a friend
who knows what I need before I ask
because they know
that what I really need in my life
is a simple relationship
that makes me feel secure
when the world is a whirlwind
and the future is what you make it
but what if I don’t make it

when life is so uncertain
that’s when I need that person
who knows my heart feels heavy
and who knows that I’m not ready
to hear to truths of the world tonight
so they wait till morning light

getting high in the meantime
talking about the past
the future
and everything in between
because they know that

the world looks harsher
when the sun comes up

Leave a Reply

