for years

For years I protected you from their unforgiving gaze
telling white lies and neglecting the truth
for what, to be abandoned for days,
weeks, months, why?

For years I tried to protect you,
cutting myself on their razor-sharp tongues
but again and again, the things that you do
make me wonder, why?

For years I truly believed in your beautiful soul
I overlooked all of your faults
but i’m battered and shattered and totally spent
because I’d used parts of me to make you seem whole.

Now we’re both empty.
And I can’t understand why.

Posted in him

Leave a Reply

