my body hurts
my head is heavy
I cannot move
I am not ready

my lids are leaden
my mouth is dry
I cannot sleep
I will not cry

I can’t forget
the sights I’ve seen
the words I’ve heard
the in-between

my cup is filled
with every breath
with every breath
its contents spilled

my mind is full
my mind is blank
I can’t forget
the lies I’ve drank

I’ve felt the weight
future unsteady
don’t make me move
I am not ready

I carry forth
the time gone by
left brittle but
I will not cry

~I’m much too young to be
  drowning in such melancholy

Posted in her

Leave a Reply

