“Even if you lose everything, you’ll always have the sea.”

and I lost it all over and again
but she never came to me.

I thought she might be lonesome,
so I sat down by her shore,
but there were far too many lovers
waiting from before.

I begged so she would listen,
and she almost always heard-
she’d begin to come toward me,
then flitter like a bird.

And back and forth this went,
for days and months and years
’til eventually eventually it came to me
as I fed her with my tears:

She didn’t want my love,
and she didn’t want despair-
you cannot love another
who simply isn’t there.

So I disposed of my affections,
stacked my baggage on my head,
I breathed her deep into my lungs,
and she welcomed me to bed.

Leave a Reply

